We just added a great feature that allows bot builders to know to whom they are talking to. You will see the chatlog emails something like this from now on (after updating your bot):

These are published as Global variables that you can call like other variables you define within the chat. You can use the same variables within your chatflow dialogue or pass this to webhook for further transactions.

Here is a list of these global variables:

Variable How to call in chat flow Example format
IP Address var.global.ip 111.111.111.11 (IPV4) ORĀ 2001:0db8:0000:0042:0000:8a2e:0370:7334 (IPV6)
IP Type var.global.type ipv4 or ipv6
Country Name var.global.country_name United States
Country Code var.global.country_code US
Region Name var.global.region_name California
Region Code var.global.region_code CA
City Name var.global.city Los Angeles
Zip Code var.global.zip 90001
Latitude var.global.latitude 11.0123
Longitude var.global.longitude 22.0123
Continent Name var.global.continent_name North America
Continent Code var.global.continent_code NA
Geoname ID var.global.location.geoname_id 5368361
Capital var.global.location.capital Washington D.C
Native Language var.global.location.languages.native English
Language Code var.global.location.languages.code en
Country Calling code var.global.location.calling_code 1
Timezone Name var.global.time_zone.id America/Los_Angeles
Current Time var.global.time_zone.current_time 2018-03-29T07:35:08-07:00
Timezone code var.global.time_zone.code PDT
Country currency var.global.currency.name US Dollar
Currency code var.global.currency.code USD
Currency in Plural var.global.currency.plural US Dollars
Currency Symbol var.global.currency.symbol $
Native Currency Symbol var.global.currency.symbol_native $
Use cases:
  • Lead generation: Knowing cities and countries from where most of the meaningful conversations are coming. You can use it to further your marketing campaigns in these regions.
  • Sales: Pushing enriched data in CRMs and HelpDesk softwares
  • Ecommerce store: Quoting price in native currency of the user
  • MultiLingual Chatbot: Offering to chat in the native language of the user

Nov 14, 2018 Update:
We added a new variable today for reporting the current URL from where the user initiated the chat.

Variable How to call in chat flow Example format
Current URL vars.GLOBAL.bot_url https://yourdomain.com/somepage.html